Meet the Governors



I feel privileged to be the Chair of the Governing Body of Shaw Wood Academy. Since becoming chair just over three years ago I have been hugely impressed by both the energy and drive of the talented staff team and the quality of the students. Shaw Wood Academy is very firmly on an upward trajectory.

As a governing body we work closely with Ms Campbell, Mrs Taylor, and Miss Horsfield and the rest of the senior leadership team to ensure that we have in place a clear strategic direction for the development of the school and a strong framework of accountability, through robust scrutiny and challenge, to make sure that the children at our school get the very best quality of education possible. The governing body is made up of people with experience and expertise in business, public service, education in the primary phase, finance, the law, local and central government and human resource management.

There are currently 8 members of the Governing Body, which is composed of 2 Parent Governors (elected from parents), 2 Staff Governors (elected by staff) and 4 Governors appointed by the Governing Body itself.  Most of our work takes place in committees that are led by knowledgeable and experienced chairs. There are three Governor committees which oversee all aspects of school life:

i) School improvement Committee
ii) Business Management Committee
iii) Full governors

We work closely with the schools in the Armthorpe pyramid and have strong relationships with other schools throughout Doncaster as part of our commitment to the wider education community. We are always eager to hear the views of members of our community including parents and pupils. If you have any questions or comments please do not hesitate to contact me through the school. I am happy contact you by phone or come into school to personally meet you.

Finally I pledge the unwavering support and commitment of the Governing Body to the school community and promise that we as a governing body will work hard to improve the value of the School to the whole population of the local community.

Phil Crawley
Chair of Governors

The Role of the Governors

> Our Governors

Current Governors and Governors in office over the last 12 months  
Phil CrawleyChair of Governors
Val WrenVice ChairAppointed 11/11/16
Karen KempCo-opted GovernorResigned 01/09/16
Sandra McGeachieStaff GovernorAppointed 01/09/15
Amanda FisherParent GovernorAppointed 02/02/15
Jo CampbellStaff Governor
Sarah SimmsParent GovernorAppointed 01/03/17
Debbie DavisCommunity GovernorResigned 01/03/17
Scott DuffieldCommunity GovernorAppointed 13/04/17
Sue McGuinessAppointed 11/11/2016
The terms of office end for the current governors on the dates listed below:  
Phil Crawley31/08/2019
Val Wren11/11/2019
Sandra McGeachie31/08/2019
Amanda Fisher01/02/2019
Jo Campbell NAN/A
Sarah Simms01/03/2020
Sue McGuiness11/11/2019
Scott Duffield13/04/2020

All Governors are also directors registered at Companies House. All Governors are on the School Improvement Committee, the Business Management committee as well as the full governing body.

Governors Register of Interest 
Governor NameInterest Declared
Phil CrawleySolicitor at Taylor Bracewell
Karen KempNone declared
Sandra McGeachieEmployee at Shaw Wood Academy
Amanda FisherNone declared
Sarah SimmsNone declared
Val WrenSon employed by SWA
Scott DuffieldEmployed by DMBC. Wife teacher at Balby Academy
Sue McGuinessCouncillor for DMBC
Jo CampbellEmployee of Shaw Wood Academy & Calderdale Teaching School Alliance
Debbie DavisArmthorpe Academy employee. Director at Minsthorpe Academy.
Meeting Attendance Records Full Governors  
Governor NameActual AttendancePossible Attendance
Phil Crawley34
Val Wren33
Sandra McGeachie44
Amanda Fisher14
Jo Campbell44
Debbie Davis11
Sarah Simms23
Sue McGuiness23
S Duffield11
Business Management Committee  
Governor NameActual AttendancePossible Attendance
Phil Crawley33
Jo Campbell33
Val Wren33
Scott Duffield01
Sue McGuiness13